Thai Green Chicken Curry

As much as I love long anecdotes, there is just too much going on today to indulge like I usually do. Not only has it been an incredibly busy day, but it has been an emotionally taxing one as well. After much contemplation (and some belated prayer), my wife and I have decided to list our townhouse on the market. It’s both exciting and sad, but we’re looking forward to what the future brings. To my committed readers and Instagram followers, you may notice that I’ll be a little longer between posts in the next little while; I’m trying to commit to keeping the house as clean as possible for showings, and that starts with the kitchen. I’m hoping we can get a sale sorted out quickly so we don’t have to leave the house spotless every day, and I can get back to cooking up a storm (and leaving huge messes in the sink) while the house is still ours.

Anyways, I’m sure this won’t be the last meal I post from my current home, but maybe just the last one for the next week or three. If it were the last from this locale, it would absolutely be a good one to go out with. Adapted from Jamie Oliver (the curry paste is essentially his recipe), this dish is full of both flavour and heat, as well as tons of general goodness.


Thai Green Chicken Curry

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken breasts, cubed or cut in cm-thick strips2016-04-10 18.40.35
  • 1 tbsp. coconut oil
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 4 Thai chillies, trimmed of their stems
  • 2 stalks lemongrass, trimmed and outer layers removed
  • 1 large thumb-sized piece ginger, peeled
  • 2 shallots
  • 30 g. fresh cilantro, stalks and leaves, plus extra for garnish
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. ground coriander
  • 2 tbsp. fish sauce
  • 1 can bamboo shoots
  • 1 red pepper, cut into shoestrings
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 lime
  • sea salt, to taste

Directions:

  • Roughly chop or slice the cloves, chillies, lemongrass, ginger and shallots. Add these all to a food processor along with the cumin and coriander and blitz until finely chopped. Add the fish sauce and process again until well-combined.
  • Cook the chicken in a large wok over medium heat for 5 minutes. Drain off any excess juices, then cook another 4 or so, until no pink remains. More juices will accumulate in that time, which you’ll want to keep.
  • At the same time, in a frying pan, cook the paste for about 2 minutes over medium heat. Add the bamboo and cook another 2 minutes, then toss in the peppers and cook another 3 minutes (stirring frequently throughout this entire process).
  • Add the contents of the frying pan to the wok along with the coconut milk and bring everything to a boil. Turn down the heat to a light simmer, let cook for about 5 minutes, then add juice from half a lime and season to taste with salt.
  • Serve over rice, garnished with additional cilantro and slices of lime.

Serves 4-5


2016-04-10 18.47.15

2016-04-10 18.43.28 (2)

thai green chicken curry

9 thoughts on “Thai Green Chicken Curry

  1. I love the green curry paste! He also uses it in a fish over rice recipe where you basically pour it all over and it’s delicious!

    Like

    1. I totally wanted to take your advice, Jeff, but I’d already cleaned the kitchen and didn’t want to risk making it messy again! Thankfully, the market in and around Vancouver is so crazy, the smell of cookies wasn’t needed.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Julie! Actually, we sold today for the asking price. Very excited, and after only 3 days on the market! As for that e-mail, I wrote back already 😉 I hope you got it

      Like

    1. What’s not to love about Thai food? I don’t think I’ve tried anything inspired by that region that I haven’t loved (but then again, I’m not too adventurous with Asian foods). (And thanks, btw)

      Like

Find this interesting? Post a comment