Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins

In order for a relationship to work, I truly believe there need to be moments where you stop and think “yeah, this just makes sense”. In truly great relationships, those moments present themselves often, and in a variety of ways.

For my wife and I, those moments usually appear when we’re at our silliest. We act goofy in ways that few others have the “privilege” of ever witnessing, all the while comforted by the knowledge that the other person looks and sounds just as immature as we do. Usually these bursts of silliness are protected under an unwritten code of privacy, sometimes verbalized by statements like “can you imagine what people would say if they heard us right now”, and sometimes not. In special circumstances, however, I find it too difficult to keep my mouth shut…

…like when my wife called these bad boys “nana buffins”…

So maybe you needed to be there to truly appreciate it. For us, though, we’ve been repeating it over and over and over again, laughing *nearly* every single time we’ve said it. To give you an idea of our – really, my – obsession with it, I’m pretty sure I’ve said it as many (or more than) the number of times I’ve heard my students say “damn Daniel” within the past week.

I don’t know why, but it makes me smile way more than it should. Speaking of which (and by “which” I mean “things that make me smile more than they should”), who knew that past-their-prime bananas could still serve a worthwhile purpose?

Obviously I know this concept isn’t actually new, but still, experiencing this phenomenon firsthand left me somewhat amazed. For me, bananas used to have a two day window in which I would willingly consume them, and that was it. As of now, however, I feel as though a whole new world of opportunities has opened up for me…

Okay, I’m going a little too strange here. It’s late out here on the West Coast, and I said I’d get these muffins posted by tonight at the latest. So, without further adieu, here are my “Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins”, adapted from The Joy of Cooking. (As a small side note, I only used 1/3 cup chocolate chips in the ones pictured below, but I’m sure you could even double that amount safely if desired).


 

Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour2016-03-08 16.33.46
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans + pecan halves for topping
  • 1/3 cup – 2/3 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Preheat your oven to 375°F and prepare a muffin pan by filling it with liners.
  • In a bowl, whisk together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg. Stir in the chopped pecans and chocolate chips, then set aside.
  • In another bowl, toss in the bananas and mash them until they’re a nice and mushy. Add in the egg, brown sugar, vegetable oil and vanilla, and whisk until well-combined.
  • Add the bowl of dry ingredients into the bowl of wet ingredients and fold together just until all ingredients are moistened.
  • Portion out this batter equally into your lined muffin pan, top each muffin with a pecan half, then place on the middle rack in your oven.
  • Bake anywhere between 15-18 minutes, removing from the oven once a toothpick inserted into a couple of the muffins comes out clean.
  • Once cooled enough to remove from the pan, remove the muffins to a cooling rack to cool completely.
  • These can be served while still warm (they go amazing with vanilla ice cream), stored covered and unrefrigerated for about 2 days, or up to a week in the fridge.

Makes 12 muffins


2016-03-08 16.51.34

Banana Nut Muffins

 

18 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins

  1. So cool to come across your blog today! I’m in Canada and also have a similar theme to my blog. However, I’m still doing that silly numbering system. :p I also ate a chocolate banana muffin this morning (although not homemade) so that’s probably why the Food Bloggers Canada tweet caught my eye! 🙂

    I look forward to reading about your cooking escapades in future.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Banana muffins are my absolute favorite. With nuts and chocolates? Even better! 😀 I bet these are delicious, J. The photos are gorgeous, too. 🙂 Happy FF and thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Find this interesting? Post a comment

