Greek Chicken and Rice Pilaf

Three days on MLS! Three days! My house was up on Realtor.ca (Canada’s MLS service) last Friday morning, and we tacked on the celebratory “sold” sticker Sunday afternoon (after choosing from competing offers and receiving *slightly more* than our optimistically high asking price).

In total, exactly one week passed between texting my friend/realtor confirming “yes, we’re going to go ahead and list the house,” and my wife and I posing for him in front of our “sold” sign.

If that sounds crazy to you, you probably don’t live in or around Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The real estate market in this area is absolutely ridiculous at the moment, with prices constantly jumping (read: skyrocketing), inventory levels low, competing offers everywhere, and – in many cases – houses going for well above asking price.

Honestly, if you are unaware of what’s happening in Vancouver (and you’re looking for something to talk about at your next dinner party), I highly recommend you look into it. Foreign ownership…empty homes…shadow flipping…the increasing popularity of Airbnb…there are so many different factors greatly affecting Canada’s third largest – and arguably most beautiful – city. It’s an extremely fascinating situation greatly affecting millions in the region with both positive and negative effects. Personally, it helped me sell my house extremely fast and for a great deal…but it’ll probably also prevent me from buying another one for quite a while…

Anyways, this post is supposed to be more about the food and less about me and my very sellable/sold house. Considering I did mention dinner parties above, I’ll segue by saying that this pilaf would be perfect for the next time you decide host a little shindig. It’s adapted from Yasmin Fahr’s recipe over at SeriousEats.com, and it is pretty darn fantastic. Technically considered a “one-pot” meal as well, this dish is both quick and easy to throw together.

I’ve already said too much though, so I’d better get you down to the recipe as soon as possible. Without any further preamble, I present to you “Greek Chicken and Rice Pilaf”. Enjoy.


Greek Chicken and Rice Pilaf

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp. olive oil, divided2016-04-23 17.19.20
  • 6-8 (approx. 1 – 1 1/2 lbs.) boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 2 tbsp. fresh oregano leaves (roughly chopped and lightly packed), divided
  • 1 tsp. seal salt, plus extra to taste
  • 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1 medium onion, finely diced
  • 1 tbsp. minced garlic
  • 1 1/2 cups long grain rice
  • 3 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 can (14 fl. oz) artichoke hearts, rinsed and roughly chopped
  • zest of juice of 1 lemon (optional: use additional lemon for garnish)
  • 3-5 oz. fresh crumbled feta cheese, to taste

Directions:

  • In a braiser or wide-bottomed Dutch oven, add 2 tbsp. of olive oil and place over medium heat.
  • While your oil is heating up, season both sides of your chicken with salt, pepper, and half of your fresh oregano. Spread out the chicken in the braiser and cook for 4-5 minutes, until the underside is nicely browned. Flip the chicken and repeat on the other side.
  • Once the chicken is browned nicely, remove to a plate, turn down the heat to low-medium, and add in the onion along with the last tbsp. of olive oil. Stir frequently, using a silicon spatula to scrape any bits of leftover chicken off the bottom as you go.
  • After the onion has softened a bit (about 3-4 minutes), toss in the garlic with the rest of the oregano, and continue cooking and stirring for another minute.
  • Add in the rice and give it a good mixing for about 30 seconds, so the rice and pick up some of the flavours in the braiser.
  • Pour in the chicken broth and give everything a good stir. The broth will help deglaze the bottom of the braiser, so use your spatula to help bring the flavors off the bottom and into your broth.
  • Add in the artichoke hearts, give everything a good stir to combine, then nestle your chicken thighs into the top of the mixture.
  • Turn the heat back up to medium until a simmer starts, then reduce heat to low and cover. Cook for about 15 minutes, until the rice is tender and the majority of the liquid has evaporated. (If you find there is still to much liquid, cook everything a few more minutes uncovered).
  • Remove from heat and stir in half the zest from your lemon as well as 2 tbsp. of lemon juice. Taste, and add additional zest and juice to taste. If using a smaller lemon such as some organic varieties (~90 g.), you can safely add the all the zest and juice.
  • Season to taste with additional salt as necessary, remembering that the feta will add a bit more saltiness to the dish.
  • Add the crumbled feta overtop, then garnish with lemon wedges or slices and serve.

Serves 4-5 as a main


2016-04-23 17.09.57

2016-04-23 17.11.59

2016-04-23 17.23.53

2016-04-23 17.20.45

Greek Chicken and Rice Pilaf

 

15 thoughts on “Greek Chicken and Rice Pilaf

  1. I’m always on the lookout for new chicken dishes to try and I think I may have found another one, so thanks for this James. It looks wonderful 🙂 Happy FF!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jess! My wife isn’t a huge fan of chicken thighs, so I don’t cook with them as much (though I LOVE them). I’m definitely going to be hunting for some good ones to adapt in the near future, but I may be tempted to go back to this one a lot – we really liked it. (And happy FF to you, too)

      Like

  2. I’m a huge fan of Greek dishes but don’t actually have that many in my repertoire at the moment. This looks fantastic – I’m looking forward to trying it sometime! And congrats on selling your house!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I think this is only the second Greek dish I’ve made (the other being Moussaka), and my next goal is to learn how to make a really good Greek potato. If you make it, please let me know, as I get really excited to hear any time somebody tries one of my recipes.

      Like

    1. Haha – thanks, Julie! By the way, the cutting board has arrived(!). I was going to pop across the border today to grab it, but the company I need to pick it up from is closed on Sundays. Definitely picking it up sometime this week, then working it into a post somehow.

      Liked by 1 person

Find this interesting? Post a comment

