Homestyle Beer Dough Pizza

This recipe is part of my Old Yale Series, a collection of recipes that I’ve created featuring beer from Chilliwack’s award-winning Old Yale Brewery. Details of my partnership with them (disclaimer: this is a sponsored post, but the views expressed are my own), and info on where you can find their beer can be found in the introduction to the first recipe of this series, my Beer-Battered Shrimp Po’ Boys.


I tried to make a tart the other day. What an absolute disaster. I like to think that all the fault lay in how warm my apartment gets in late July, but I’m pretty sure a skilled baker could have overcome that obstacle and still turned out something half-decent.

From the get-go, I could tell that things had a good chance of going awry. With my stand mixer working away, the dough was supposed to start pulling away from the bowl and come together. That never happened. I persisted anyways, chilling the dough and attempting to roll it out hours later. Cracks everywhere.

I reworked the dough into a ball again, warming it a bit with my hands. It became the stickiest pastry crust I’ve ever seen, and attempting to transfer it to my tart pan was, well, unsuccessful.

I won’t bore you with the details of how many more times I attempted to chill and roll out this dough (being mindfully aware that every attempt ruins the dough just a little bit more), but I hope it suffices to say that it was not a good experience and I sounded less like a baker – and more like a sailor – by the end of it (which wasn’t when it finally baked, but rather when I tossed the dough into the trash in frustration).

Why mention all this right now? I mention is because this situation right here is the exact opposite. This dough is incredibly easy to work with and has fantastic results. The recipe for the dough itself is adapted from Ricardo Larrivée, though only slightly. As for the amounts required for the pizza sauce, mozzarella, and other choice toppings, I left them blank because I approve and support your autonomy as an individual. Should you decide to forgo that autonomy, know that I’ve used a small can of store-bought tomato sauce (about 200 ml.) each time I’ve made this recipe (three times last week, because it’s that good) and half of a package of mozza (about 200 – 250 grams).

You can see from the pictures that I added some meats (pepperoni, salami and ham), along with a green pepper (tossed on the pizza raw before baking), and some black olives. I absolutely love this combination thanks to early indoctrination by my parents (I was the less picky eater of my siblings, so I got stuck sharing the “adult pizza” because my sisters wouldn’t go anywhere near it), but I’d be remised not to also recommend the ever popular ham and pineapple combo.

Whatever toppings you end up choosing, know that you’re in for a treat with this one.


 

Homestyle Beer Dough Pizza

Ingredients:DSC_1465 (3)

  • 1 cup Old Yale Brewing Old Paddle Pilsner (or similar)
  • 1 packet quick-rise yeast
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra as needed
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil, plus extra for brushing/greasing
  • pizza sauce
  • grated mozzarella
  • additional toppings of your choosing

Directions

  • In a container safe to do so, microwave the beer in 10-20 second intervals until lukewarm. Combine together with the yeast and sugar. Let sit for about 5 minutes, allowing bubbles to form.
  • In the bowl of a stand mixer with dough hook attachment, combine together the flour and salt. While set to medium speed, add the olive oil and the beer-yeast mixture. Continue on medium until a ball of dough forms (if the dough is too wet, add a tablespoon of flour at a time until the dough is workable).
  • Turn out the dough out onto a well-floured surface and knead for about 5 minutes, adding additional flour whenever the dough gets too sticky.
  • Grease a medium-sized bowl with olive oil. Place the dough in the bowl and lightly cover with a clean dish cloth. Let rest for 10 minutes.
  • Remove the dough back to your floured surface and roll out/stretch into a large rectangle. Transfer your dough to a thick baking sheet lightly greased with olive oil, cover with your dish towel again, and place in a warm, dry place, to rise for an hour. Once the hour is almost up, preheat your oven to 450°F and prepare whatever toppings you’ve chosen to use.
  • When the dough is ready, brush the edges of the dough with olive oil. Then, top the pizza with your sauce, grated mozzarella, and anything you’ve chosen to throw on there.
  • Toss in the oven and bake for 10-15 minutes, until the crust is lightly browned.
  • Cut into squares and attempt to share.

Serves 3-4


DSC_1469

Homestyle Beer Dough Pizza FJTJ

 

 

3 thoughts on “Homestyle Beer Dough Pizza

    1. Thanks, Bill. The beer adds a subtle taste to the dough without being overpowering. I quite like it with the pale ale I chose. When I tried it with Old Yale’s blonde ale, I couldn’t detect the beer at all, which some like.

      Like

  1. I m happy I’m not the only one struggling with dough sometimes. Sorry xD This pizza looks so so good! I think pizza with a beer dough is absolutely genius! Thanks for taking it to the party! Happy Fiesta!

    Like

Find this interesting? Post a comment

