Stout Cupcakes with Baileys Cream Cheese Icing

This recipe is part of my Old Yale Series, a collection of recipes that I’ve created featuring beer from Chilliwack’s award-winning Old Yale Brewery. Details of my partnership with them (disclaimer: this is a sponsored post, but the views expressed are my own), and info on where you can find their beer can be found in the introduction to the first recipe of this series, my Beer-Battered Shrimp Po’ Boys.


According to Wikipedia, the self-help book “How to Win Friends and Influence People” contains a whopping 291 pages. Were it a novel, I think most would consider it to be rather short. As a guide to getting people to like you and be influenced by you, however, I figure it’s about 289 pages too long.

In all honesty (and a little jest), if I were to write a book promising friends and influence, I could do it in two pages. The first page would have the recipe for these cupcakes, and the second would just be a collection of things people have said after taking their first bites, like, “These are the best cupcakes I’ve ever had!” or “I don’t even like cupcakes, but these are amazing!”.

I can’t take much credit for the awesomeness of this recipe, though. Before I partnered with Old Yale to create some tasty treats using their beers, they already had a version of this recipe up on their site. I merely scoured the interwebs for the perfect Bailey’s cream cheese icing recipe, (which I found over at My Name is Yeh), and then…did pretty much nothing else to the recipe.

I didn’t change it because I really didn’t need to. These cupcakes are incredibly moist and full of chocolate-y goodness (without overkill), and are complimented perfectly with just the right amount of boozy cream cheese icing (which I’ll take over a huge spiral of over-sweetened buttercream any day).

Whip up a batch, share them around, and watch your popularity grow. While you’re at it, know that I wouldn’t be too heartbroken if you sent them my way in search of the recipe…


Stout Cupcakes with Baileys Irish Cream Cheese Icing

Ingredients:

For the cupcakes:2016-09-17-17-08-45

  • 1 cup Old Yale Brewing Stout (Sasquatch or Screaming Banshee)
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) salted butter
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp. baking soda

For the icing:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup cream cheese, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups icing sugar, to taste
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 – 3 tbsp. Baileys Irish Cream, to taste

Directions:

  • Preheat your oven to 350°F and prepare 2 muffin pans with 24 liners.
  • Cut the butter into several smaller pieces, then add to a large saucepan along with the stout. Place over medium/low heat until the butter has melted.
  • Whisk in the cocoa and sugar, then remove from heat.
  • In a bowl, beat together the eggs, sour cream and vanilla.
  • Pour the egg/sour cream/vanilla mixture into the saucepan and give everything a good whisking.
  • Combine together the flour and baking soda, then whisk this into the saucepan as well. Your batter is now ready, so transfer it to a pitcher or large measuring cup for pouring.
  • Pour your cupcake batter into the muffin pans, filling the liners 3/4 full.
  • Bake for anywhere from about 15-19 minutes, until the middles are set.
  • To make the icing, cream together the butter and cream cheese in a stand mixer. On a lower speed, add in the icing sugar a third at a time, until all of it has been incorporated (going too fast will make a mess, so be careful). Finally, add in the salt, vanilla and Baileys, and mix to combine.
  • Slather the cupcakes with the cream cheese icing or, if you’re feeling fancy, toss the icing into a piping bag and try to do a better job than I did.

Makes 24 cupcakes


img_20160926_214407

stout-cupcakes-with-irish-cream-cheese-icing

7 thoughts on “Stout Cupcakes with Baileys Cream Cheese Icing

      1. Hi James,
        I am a very good friend of Mary Barns – your Sister’s mother in law. She made these cupcakes and they were FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!! I am going to make them also. I am going to follow your blog and try some of your other recipes. THANKS for sharing the recipe..
        Deb Lundberg in Erie, PA………

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Andrea just sent me a picture. Looks like they turned out great! Definitely point your coworkers in the direction of the blog if they’re curious 😉. Love that you used Deschutes as Mateja and I were down at their brewery in Portland last month. Thanks for letting me know, Mary!

      Like

Find this interesting? Post a comment

