Blueberry Bacon Beer Pancakes

This recipe is part of my Old Yale Series, a collection of recipes that I’ve created featuring beer from Chilliwack’s award-winning Old Yale Brewery. Details of my partnership with them (disclaimer: this is a sponsored post, but the views expressed are my own), and info on where you can find their beer can be found in the introduction to the first recipe of this series, my Beer-Battered Shrimp Po’ Boys.


As a child, weekend brunches in my family were always a point of contention with me. With two sisters harnessing near-insatiable cravings for waffles, French toast, and fruit-filled crepes, it was rare that my mother prepared a main dish verging anywhere near what one would call savory. Being the only one of my mother’s three children to consistently crave salty breakfast foods, my needs were constantly overlooked in favor of my sisters’. It’s hard to blame my mom, though; my sisters were so ravenously passionate about their sweet brunch meals, I would have also given in to their food demands for fear of what might happen otherwise.

I know that such a problem is of the first-world variety, and I’m not looking for any sympathy from you; I doubt I would get any either (it’s really hard to feel bad for a guy who’s partnered with a fantastic brewery to create recipes with their beer, isn’t it?). I just wish that as a child, my mom would have found a way to bring together the cravings of ALL of her children, not just her sweet brunch-crazy daughters. You know, maybe she could have added some fried chicken to her waffles, or perhaps she could have filled her crepes with some ham, cheese and egg once in a while. Or…maybe should could have made some tasty blueberry pancakes, and then thrown bacon in them!

So yeah, that’s sort of my thought process for this recipe. Hard done by as a child (I mean, not really, but I like to joke that that’s the case), I’ve sought to create a recipe that harmonizes the salty and sweet sides of breakfast/brunch. The fact that it can be so quickly thrown together and requires little effort and virtually no skill is just an added bonus that’s much appreciated when you’re still half asleep and hungry.


Blueberry Bacon Beer Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 2016-09-19-18-30-25-21 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup Old Yale Brewing Knotty Blonde Ale
  • 5 strips double-smoked bacon
  • 1/2 cup blueberries (frozen or fresh)
  • butter, for serving
  • syrup, for serving

Directions:

  • In a large prep bowl, combine together the flour, baking powder and salt. Mix well.
  • Crack in your egg, then pour in your beer and whisk until smooth. Let sit for about 20-30 minutes.
  • In the meantime, fry up your bacon to your desired crispiness on a griddle (a skillet or frying pan can be used if needed). Remove the bacon and place on paper towel to remove excess grease. With a flat-sided spatula, drain the bacon grease from your griddle. Once cooled slightly, chop up the bacon.
  • Add your blueberries and bacon to your batter and stir to combine.
  • To make your pancakes, portion them out onto your skillet set to medium heat. In a minute or two once bubbles start to form in the batter, flip over and continue cooking the other side for an equal length of time. I suggest making a small, trial pancake, and adjusting heat and cooking times as necessary.
  • Serve with butter and syrup.

Serves 2-4


blueberry-bacon-beer-pancakes

5 thoughts on “Blueberry Bacon Beer Pancakes

  1. I’ve a bit of a savoury tooth myself when it comes to breakfast – I understand your pain!
    My favourite breakfast is usually a fry but…since that would kill me if I ate more than once in a while, I usually stick to toast or leftovers! This sounds intriguing and you definitely appeal to both palettes! I do like blueberry pancakes but the bacon….and beer, sound really intriguing. If one wanted to make this and they didn’t have access to Old Yale Brewing Knotty Blonde Ale, what ale do you suggest they could use instead?

    Don’t forget to link back to Fiesta Friday as well as my blog and Judi’s as your co-hosts 🙂

    Like

  2. What a great flavor combination and your pancakes look so delicate, they almost look like crepes to me. Yum! btw browsed around your site and pinned your earl grey cookies and beer bread recipe – new follower:)

    Like

Find this interesting? Post a comment

