Roasted Yam Medallions with Tahini Sauce

So I learned the other day that apparently I can be intimidating to cook for. I guess it’s one of the side effects of being a food blogger. Somehow my friends (or at least the one hosting me for dinner the other night) think that I’m pickier now, or that I have higher standards, or something like that. I personally don’t think that this is the case, and I think my love for Costco hot dogs proves that point…

Actually, I guess I am sort of picky when it comes to my food – but that’s not something new. Growing up, a big fear of mine was eating dinner at friends’ houses, not knowing what I’d be served. I was raised to be polite and stomach whatever was put in front of me, and I could usually make my parents proud by doing so. Obviously there were times where this wasn’t the case, but in those instances it was usually because a plate was made up for me. Allow me a little choice between sides and a main, and I could pretty much always come up with a semi-balanced meal I could devour or – heaven forbid – choke down (but at least get through). Put a plate together for me, and something on said plate would almost always go untouched.

I’m not sure where this pickiness came from, but I guess I have to admit that it still shines through from time to time. For example, I have a pretty strong aversion of potlucks. The biggest reason is that I want to know what’s in my food; unfortunately; at potlucks, there’s rarely a label to be seen. I mean, I can get a general idea about what’s in a communal salad, casserole or veggie dish simply by looking at it, but somehow that isn’t enough for me.

But, I digress. I should be talking about these fantastic yams, which were made for me by the aforementioned friend who felt a little antsy to be preparing my food. The yams were honestly so delicious that I was very adamant that she give the recipe to me for immediate posting here on the blog. As a true sign that she never should have been intimidated by my food blogger status, she told me she didn’t really have a recipe. She has a basic idea – nothing written out, however – and whenever she makes it she just plays with the amounts until it seems right. Despite this, she sent me (via Facebook messenger) the basic idea for the recipe. I tweaked it a bit from her version (more out of availability of ingredients in my home than out of desire to change anything), and the recipe seen below is the delicious result of that.

Now, as a final little note before I get to the recipe, I want to wish my (fellow) Canadian readers a big “Happy Thanksgiving”. May you celebrate it with those who mean the most to you, whether in person or in spirit. God bless.


Roasted Yam Medallions with Tahini Sauce

Ingredients:

For the yams:

  • 2 yams, scrubbed and sliced thin (about 5-7 mm.)2016-10-03-17-33-33-2
  • 2 tbsp. coconut oil
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • pine nuts, for serving

For the tahini sauce:

  • 3 tbsp. tahini
  • 2 tbsp. water
  • 1-2 tbsp. lemon juice, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. old style mustard

Directions:

  • Preheat your oven to 375°F.
  • Combine together your cumin, chili powder and cinnamon. Adding small amounts of the spice mixture at a time, toss the yams in a large prep bowl until all the spice mixture is used up and the yams are coated evenly.
  • Distribute the yams onto a baking sheet so that no medallions overlap with each other.
  • Dot the yams with the coconut oil, then toss in the oven and bake for about 20-25 minutes. The yams should be soft, but still hold their shape.
  • While the yams are roasting, prepare the tahini sauce. Combine together all of the ingredients for the sauce, using 1 tbsp. of lemon juice initially. Taste and add up to an additional tbsp. of lemon juice as to your preference.
  • To serve, drizzle with the tahini sauce and top with pine nuts.

Serves 4 as a side dish


roasted-yam-medallions-with-tahini-sauce-2


As I do from time to time (but recently, not nearly enough), I’m sharing this recipe over at Fiesta Friday. It’s the only blogging link-up that I join on a regular basis, and for good reason. There are some really friendly, encouraging bloggers I’ve met there over the last *almost* two years, and I love connecting with them and seeing what new recipes they have to offer. This weeks’ hosts are Linda @ Fabulous Fare Sisters who has a simple yet fantastic idea for what to do if you have a little extra ricotta kicking around, and my absolute biggest supporter amongst bloggers that I’ve never actually met in real life, Julie @ Hostess At Heart. I actually rolled my ankle this summer attempting to take a picture of a cornfield across from my parents’ house as part of a joking rivalry about the corn in our respective hometowns. I mean, what does Nebraska know about corn, anyways? Jokes aside, check out her latest post on Cuban Sandwiches. I think I’d concede victory in the battle of the cobs if she were to pass a sandwich or two out my way.

3 thoughts on “Roasted Yam Medallions with Tahini Sauce

  1. Thank you so much for the shout out! I have friends that say that they “can’t cook like me” but that’s not true. I love family recipes and the stories that go with them. True story I rolled my ankle the first time stepping in a gopher hole. It took me out of a track meet. Thank you for bringing this delicious recipe to Fiesta Friday and I hope you are enjoying your Thanksgiving!

    Like

  2. These yam medallions are pure heaven! I’m a huge fan of anything roasted – and that tahini sauce…can I just say YUM! Thanks for bringing these to Fiesta Friday (and for the shout-out!) – Have a great evening James 🙂

    Like

Find this interesting? Post a comment

