One-Pot Thai Chicken Soup

I feel as though I’ve gone quasi-illiterate over the summer. I’ve been stuck on the same book for over a month now (I loved reading the first two stories from the author, but the third is missing that magic), and I’ve only published four recipes since the official start of the season. I’ve worked on creating and writing up other dishes, but they haven’t been disseminated to the masses (i.e. you, and those like you) just quite yet.

Honestly, I feel as though with my time off from work (I’m a teacher, in case you were unaware and wondering), I’ve lost the ability to string together more than two or three sentences worth of written output. I mean, I’ve managed to knock out a decent number of Instagram posts – with a few sentences here and there – but those blurbs are nowhere near the length of my longwinded, wholly unnecessary, never-really-have-anything-to-do-with-the-recipe intros I take (misguided) pride in producing here.

Oh well, it’s really about the food anyways, right?

With that, let’s get on to the food. Back when my wife and I lived in Halifax, with our uber-tiny kitchen and a less-than-substantial amount of kitchenware, I had a rotation of only about six different dishes that I would make. Of those six or so dishes, two of them were Thai, and they always combined together into a very special feast. I still think back on our Red Thai Chicken Curry and Shrimp Pad Thai nights fondly. At the time, I honestly thought I was cooking. Looking back, I liken it to the time I made my wife an out-of-the-box cake and said I’d been “baking”. In each of those cases I guess I was technically doing one or the other (cooking or baking), but I definitely cut corners using premade mixes, sauces and pastes.

Though I have been good about making my own curry pastes since starting up this blog, sometimes it just doesn’t make sense given the many constraints of everyday living. Sometimes you want something delicious and easy, and you want it right away. This soup is the embodiment of that desire. In addition to being extremely tasty and soul-warming, it only uses one pot, and it doesn’t require cooking rice separately only to be added later.

Anyways, I’ve said too much already. Seriously, we all have other things we need to get to, right? So, at long last, here is my recipe for One-Pot Thai Chicken Soup:


One-Pot Thai Chicken Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp. coconut oil, dividedone-pot-thai-chicken-soup-3
  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • 1 tsp. sea salt, plus extra to taste
  • 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper, plus extra to taste
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, minced (or one large Russian garlic clove)
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced thin then halved
  • 1 thumb-sized piece fresh ginger
  • 1 cup uncooked long grain rice
  • 4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 x 398 ml (14 oz.) cans unsweetened coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp. Thai Kitchen red curry paste
  • small handful fresh cilantro leaves, roughly chopped
  • juice of 1 lime

Directions:

  • Fillet your chicken breasts so that you have 4 thin fillets, then season with the tsp. sea salt and 1/4 tsp. black pepper.
  • Place a soup pot over medium heat, then add in  1 tbsp. coconut oil. Once the oil has had a chance to warm up a bit, lay 2 of your fillets in the pot and cook for 1-2 minutes until no pink remains on the underside. Flip the chicken over and repeat with the second side. Remove to a plate and repeat with the other 2 fillets, removing these also when there is no visible pink remaining.
  • Add the second tbsp. of coconut oil, then toss in the onion and garlic and cook for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Stir in the bell pepper, cooking a minute longer, then grate your ginger directly into the pot.
  • Give everything a good stir, then return the chicken to the pot, along with any accompanying juices.
  • Add in the rice and give everything a good stir for about a minute.
  • Pour in the chicken broth, turn the element up to medium/high, and let the pot’s contents come to a boil. Cover, reduce the heat back to medium, and let everything cook for 10 minutes. Give it a good stir or two in this time to make sure the rice doesn’t stick to the bottom.
  • Whisk together your coconut milk and curry paste, then add to the pot. Cover and let simmer an additional 5-6 minutes.
  • Turn the element down to low, then remove your pieces of chicken and shred them using two forks.
  • Return the chicken back to the pot, then stir in the cilantro and lime juice.
  • Taste, and season with additional salt and pepper as necessary. If the rice is firmer than you’d like it, allow the pot to simmer on low for a few more minutes until it’s to your liking.
  • Enjoy

Serves 4-5 as a main


one-pot-thai-chicken-soup-2

one-pot-thai-chicken-soup-1one-pot-thai-chicken-soup

 

4 thoughts on “One-Pot Thai Chicken Soup

    1. You’re too kind, Anneke! Please let me know what you think of it, once you get a chance to make it. Btw, I’m disappointed I haven’t seen your granddaughter walking the halls of my school this year.

      Like

  1. I know exactly what you mean, I always feel like there’s just not enough hours in the day. Sometimes my posts take a place on the back burner too. But today, you’ve brought a wonderful one pot Thai chicken soup to comfort our taste buds. With the cooler weather around the corner, this will surely satisfy. I too love Thai food, I have also tried a Thai chicken recipe in the crockpot that is quite delicious. Thanks for bringing your one pot wonder to Fiesta Friday, have a great weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And sometimes it’s just our comment replies that suffer 😉 I’m definitely excited for cooler weather, and all the curries, soups, and stews that come with it. Anyways, happy early Fiesta Friday for tomorrow 🙂

      Like

Find this interesting? Post a comment

