Chipotle Chicken Sliders

I think I finally have it figured out, and it only took me a year and a half!

Since starting From James to Jamie, I’ve always had it in the back of my mind that my efforts would pay off in some tangible way. Writing this blog is 100% a hobby, and not something I’ve ever seriously considered making money with. Even so, I’ve always hoped that I’d get to the point where special perks started, well, raining down upon me like manna from heaven. From invites to exclusive “food blogger only” press events, to sponsored posts (read: free groceries), I’d always dreamed of reaching that level where my influence in the online world was big enough for people and brands to heap awesome free stuff upon me.

Unfortunately, aside from a single book signing event (which was exciting, and talked about in my Eggnog Cheesecake Bars post), that hasn’t really been the situation as of yet. But…I think that’s all about to change.

Now, I understand that those bloggers who do get the great perks often work hard for that to be the case. Even when it looks as though opportunities have fallen in their laps, it’s only because they’ve been consistently pumping out a great product and opening themselves up to opportunities. A lot of blogs have “Work With Me” sections to help promote collaborations and the like, something I myself haven’t done as of yet. I’m thinking I may go a different direction, though…

I’m thinking I need a “Buy Me a Drink” page on my site, where craft breweries and wineries can contact me about featuring their products in my blog posts and on social media, obviously in exchange for free bottles of their product. As you’ll see with this post, I tend to feature a beer or two in my posts anyways (and the breweries are starting to take notice, too), so I don’t think it’s too much of a stretch to work that into a little arrangement that benefits both parties.

While I get that set up, though, how about we take a moment to admire these Chipotle Chicken Sliders? Admittedly a bit of a misnomer, these sliders are probably 2/3 of the way to being full-on burgers. I could have referred to them as “almost full-sized burgers”, but I figured that was a bit much. Where they are not quite full on size, though, they’re absolutely full of flavour.

Speaking of flavour…you should definitely check out the two beers I have featured in my pictures (see what I’m doing here?). The Phillips Brewing Blue Buck is a beer that I keep going back to over and over again, whereas it was my first time trying the Main St. Brewing Naked Fox IPA (or anything from that brewery, for that matter). Both are fantastic and should definitely be checked out if you have the opportunity to do so. They go especially well with chipotle chicken sliders. If only you had a recipe…(see what I’m still doing here?)


Chipotle Chicken Sliders

Ingredients:

  • 3 chicken breasts2016-06-13 19.26.16
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1-2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup regular bread crumbs
  • vegetable oil
  • 9 small hamburger buns, toasted (optional)
  • sliced sweet pickles
  • crisp green leaf lettuce
  • mayonnaise
  • chipotle mayo

Directions:

  • Cut the chicken breasts into three roughly equal-sized pieces. For thicker breasts, this may mean cutting in half width-wise, then filleting the thicker portion to create three pieces. For thinner breasts, simply make two width-wise cuts to obtain your three pieces. With a meat tenderizer, pound to about an 8mm thickness.
  • Line up three bowls. To the first bowl add the flour, salt and pepper, then stir to combine. To the second bowl add the egg and beat well. Fill the third bowl with the bread crumbs.
  • Add about a cm of oil to a medium-sized pot and place over medium heat. At the same time, preheat your oven to 350° F.
  • One at a time, coat the chicken in the flour and seasoning mixture, then the egg (allowing excess egg to drip off), then bread crumbs. If you run low on egg, simply add another.
  • Once the oil is hot enough for frying (once the oil forms bubbles immediately when the corner of a piece of chicken is dipped in it), work in batches, frying up the chicken until golden brown, flipping once or twice to ensure even browning. Remove the fried chicken from the pot and place on a wire rack sitting over a baking sheet. Place in the oven to finish off and keep warm.
  • Once all the chicken is golden brown and placed in the oven, allow to bake for another 2-3 minutes. Remove, cut into one or two to ensure no pink remains (tossing in the oven for a few more minutes if necessary).
  • The breading on the bottom of the chicken may get a little soft in the oven, so flip over on the wire rack and allow to sit for a few minutes until they crisp back up.
  • Finally, assemble your sliders with the following layers:
    • bottom bun
    • mayonnaise
    • chicken
    • lettuce
    • sweet pickles
    • chipotle aioli
    • top bun
  • Enjoy!

Makes 9 sliders (serves 3-4 people)


2016-06-13 19.28.10

2016-06-11 20.03.43

2016-06-11 19.59.51

chipotle chicken sliders

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Chipotle Chicken Sliders

  1. James- these sliders look great! I saw your post on Fiesta Friday. I am a big lover of beer with my spicy food! I think these look like a great summer slider. Thanks for the recipe.
    PS I think your buy me a drink idea is perfect!
    Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Michelle. I’m a bit of a fan of beer with anything, if we’re being completely honest 😉 As for being sponsored by breweries…one can always hope, right?

      Like

      1. It really does sound that like doesn’t it – especially with missing words, etc. But alas, I hadn’t. I was making my way through all the Fiesta Friday posts since I was a co-host. And apparently, I was less efficient than I thought with my speed commenting. 😉

        Like

Find this interesting? Post a comment

