Bangkok Chicken Wraps

Quick, what’s the capital of Tajikistan?

Anybody?

No?

That’s what I thought – nobody!

Of course, I have no idea whether or not that’s actually the case; in fact, I highly doubt that NOBODY reading this knows the answer (it’s Dushanbe, by the way). I know that my readership is expanding, (I see you Australia, Brazil, Hong Kong, Cyprus, etc.). With all the wonderful places my lovely readers hail from, I think it’s safe to say that your combined wealth of geographical knowledge is far superior to mine. Oh well.

Actually, I should point out that I chose that particular query because it was actually a trivia question I was asked recently. Thankfully, I was teamed up with my geography-major wife, and she did not disappoint. Had the question been “What’s the capital of Thailand?”, however, and I’d have been much more useful to my team.

Growing up, I found the name “Bangkok” to be both hilarious and unnerving. A very suggestive name, my friends and I would question each other as to Thailand’s capital city on a near-daily basis. Unfortunately for the person on the receiving end, the question was almost always a precursor to a swift smack to the groin.

Boys, right?

…Anyways…

These wraps are much less like a tap to the nether-regions and much more like a punch of deliciousness to your taste buds (which I mean in a super good way). If you’re shooting for healthy, stick to a single portion of the sauce. If you like things good and saucy, calories be damned, then go ahead and double the amounts (or shoot for something in-between). Regardless of your preference, they are delicious, and you should definitely check out the recipe posted below.


Bangkok Chicken Wraps

Ingredients:

For the sauce (can be doubled if you prefer it saucier):
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil2016-06-07 18.59.45
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. fresh grated ginger
  • 2 tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp. hoisin sauce
  • 1 tbsp. packed brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp. rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp. sriracha
  • 1/4 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup water
Everything else:
  • 1 tbsp. coconut oil
  • 2 large chicken breasts (~400 g.) , cut into bite-sized cubes
  • fresh-cracked sea salt and black pepper
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1/2 small red onion, diced (~100 g.)
  • 300 g. green leaf lettuce
  • 200 g. sugar snap peas
  • 1/2 – 1 cup unsalted blanched peanuts
  • 80 – 100 g. dried steam noodles
  • 6 large tortilla wraps

Directions:

  • Heat the coconut oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Add the chicken and season with fresh cracked sea salt and pepper as it cooks. Cook the chicken until no pink remains, then set aside.
  • Heat the sesame oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Add the garlic and ginger and cook for about a  minute, then add in the rest of the sauce’s ingredients, whisk well so that the sugar and peanut butter dissolve. Turn up the heat to medium-high, bring to a boil, then turn down the heat to low-medium and let simmer for 4 minutes, whisking often. Add additional water if it thickens too much, or threatens to burn.
  • Tear up the lettuce and add to a large salad bowl along with the pepper, onion, snap peas, peanuts, and noodles. Pour over the sauce, then toss to combine and evenly coat.
  • To serve, portion the filling into the tortillas (warmed up quickly in the microwave if you prefer) and wrap up tightly.

Serves 6


Bangkok chicken wraps


I’m a little late to the party (considering it’s Saturday as I’m posting this), but I’m sharing this recipe over at Fiesta Friday. This week’s cohosts have some pretty exciting things going on over at their respective blogs. Margy (La Petite Casserole) has a Strawberry and Ricotta Cake that looks simply to die for, and Linda (La Petite Paniere) recently shared a recipe for Sesame and Nigella Seeds Bagels that I think I’ll be dreaming about tonight.

5 thoughts on “Bangkok Chicken Wraps

Find this interesting? Post a comment

