95 – Bacon, Tomato & Feta Egg Cups

Over a month ago, I borrowed my sister’s waffle maker. I wish I could say that it has been sitting in the exact same place since arriving at my house. I feel that sort of statement would show definitively how strongly my wife and I crave savory breakfasts over the sweet variety. The only reason it has moved positions, however, is because we don’t have the space for it.

My wife keeps asking me when we can get rid of it, and my answer is always a variation of the same thing: “Not until I make something with it.” It’s not that I don’t like waffles. I mean, I borrowed the equipment with the intention of actually using it. It’s just that I love eggs and bacon infinitely more.

Growing up, my sisters always had more influence than me over what my mom made for brunch. Whether it was crepes, French toast, or waffles, brunch was nearly always by request, and those sweet breakfasts were always requested by my sisters. Did I enjoy them? Sure. Would I have preferred eggs benny or a full English breakfast? Any day of the week.

So, the waffle maker sits, awaiting that elusive craving. It’ll come one day. I hope it happens fast though, because my wife is desperate to ship it back where it came from and make some more space in the kitchen. Maybe I’ll just use it to make waffled hashbrowns. That counts, right?

Sure it does.

In the meantime, these Bacon, Tomato & Feta Egg Cups totally rocked brunch today. If you love a good savory breakfast/brunch, I highly recommend knocking out a set of these bad boys. They’re super easy to throw together (they’re essentially a soufflé’s lazy cousin), and they hit the spot just right. Interested? Check out the recipe below:


 

Bacon, Tomato & Feta Egg Cups

Ingredients:

  • 4 large eggs2015-12-20 13.39.44
  • 2 Roma tomatoes
  • 4 slices thick-cut bacon
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta
  • ground pepper
  • sea salt (optional)
  • Sriracha, for serving (optional)

Directions:

  • Preheat your oven to 450°F. If frying your bacon, do this now. If baking your bacon, line a baking sheet with parchment paper, lay the bacon on top, and bake anywhere from 12-17 minutes, flipping the bacon at the 10-minute mark (once the oven us up to temperature, of course).
  • Remove the bacon from the oven, pat dry with paper towel, and dice when cooled.
  • While the bacon is cooking, prep your other ingredients. Dice the tomatoes and crumble the feta if its not already in that state. Grease 4 small ramekins with butter or non-stick cooking spray.
  • Once the bacon is ready, working one at a time, crack your eggs into a small cup, season with a touch of pepper (and salt, if desired, keeping in mind the bacon and feta already add saltiness to the dish), and scramble with a fork. Pour the egg into a ramekin, and repeat until all eggs are used and all ramekins are filled.
  • Divide the tomatoes, feta and bacon into four equal portions, and add these to the ramekins (you may not feel the need to use all of the tomato).
  • Mix these ingredients together in the ramekins, then place the ramekins on a baking sheet and toss in the oven for about 16-17 minutes, until the egg cups have puffed up and appear set.
  • Remove from the oven and eat serve in the ramekins (when cooled slightly), or use a knife to carefully remove them to a separate dish if preferred. Be sure to keep some Sriracha on the table for those who like a little spice with their eggs.

Makes 4 egg cups


2015-12-20 13.40.57 Bacon, Tomato and Feta Egg Cups

 

6 thoughts on “95 – Bacon, Tomato & Feta Egg Cups

Find this interesting? Post a comment

