94 – Creamy Tomato Tortellini Soup

Nearing the end of this whole “year of blogging 100+ recipes” thing, and I think I’m actually going to make it – my first New Years resolution I’ll have actually followed through on! With this recipe posted, I’m now only six recipes away. More importantly, I have 13 more non-working days in 2015 to get it done. Yes, some of those days are holidays spent with family. Yes, some of those days will be spent travelling to Victoria and Seattle. Nevertheless, I will find a way.

The only thing that can stop me at this point is not knowing what types of dishes to make. As much as I’ve tried to curb it, I am still a picky eater. Yes, I’ve been more adventurous this past year (I’m looking at you, eggplant!), but when it comes to selecting recipes to make and post, it can take me a painstakingly long time to do.

Once I finally figure out what I’m craving (which I’m always pretty confident all my readers will instantly start craving as well), I still need to find the right inspiration. As confident as I feel in the kitchen now, I still opt for a base recipe in each case, then adapt it a little – or a lot – to get it just right.

This recipe is adapted from Courtney over at NeighborFood. It’s quite different from her version (actually VERY different), but I always like posting where my inspiration and guidance came from, even if it’s virtually unrecognizable by the end of my adaptations. She made a creamy tortellini soup with sausage, and so did I.

Actually, to be honest, this recipe is virtually unrecognizable as a soup. Do you need a bowl? Absolutely. Therefore, I call it a soup. Does it have as much or more sustenance than any soup you’ve ever had? Well, I bet it’s right up there. Super thick – and super delicious – this Creamy Tomato Tortellini Soup does not disappoint.

Anyways, time for the recipe. Check it out, try it out, and let me know how it goes – I’m pretty confident that you’ll be glad you did.


 

Creamy Tomato Tortellini Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsbp. olive oil2016-10-30-12-58-34
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 3 cloves Russian garlic, minced
  • 1 lb. uncooked Italian sausage (mild or spicy)
  • 4 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 28 fl. oz. diced tomatoes
  • 3 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 3 kale leaves
  • 6 cups (or 1 lb.) fresh, cheese-filled tortellini
  • 1/2 cup heavy (whipping) cream
  • 3/4 cup lightly-packed shaved parmesan
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  • In a soup pot or Dutch oven, sauté the onion in the olive oil over medium heat for about 5 minutes, until onions have softened. Stir in the garlic and cook an additional minute.
  • Add the sausage to the pot. If sausage meat isn’t in casing, simply add and break apart with a wooden spoon. If sausage is in casings, slice into bite-sized pieces before adding.
  • Cook the sausage, stirring often, until no pink remains.
  • Add the chicken stock, diced tomatoes (and their juices), and tomato paste to the pot and give it a good stir. Turn up the heat to medium-high, cover, and bring to a boil.
  • Once boiling, reduce the heat to a simmer and toss in the kale. You can remove the thicker parts of the stalks, then roughly chop the leaves; alternately, you can simply cut the leaves off the stalks and give them a quick tear as you toss them in.
  • Once the kale has cooked for 5 minutes, toss in the tortellini and cook according to the time stated on the package (about 6-8 minutes). During this time, lots of stirring is necessary as some of the tortellini will otherwise remain on top and won’t cook evenly. You may also find the need to increase the temperature slightly as your simmer will probably stop with the addition of the pasta.
  • Once the tortellini is cooked (aim for slightly al dente as it will continue to cook afterwards), remove the pot from heat. Stir in the cream and parmesan, then season to taste with salt and pepper.

Serves 4-6 as a main


2016-02-10 17.37.26

 

creamy-tomato-tortellini-soup-fjtj

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “94 – Creamy Tomato Tortellini Soup

Find this interesting? Post a comment

