85 – Nutella and Banana Crepes

Spurred by the fact that it’s Canadian Thanksgiving this weekend – a time to reflect on life’s blessings and feast with family – I can’t help but share with you a few highs I’ve had recently over here at From James to Jamie. First though, a disclaimer: my sister, the one who cooks and frequents other food blogs, has always advised me to never talk stats to my readers. However, I invited her over for these fantastic crepes for brunch this morning, so I don’t feel so bad about disregarding her potentially sage advice.

So what are these highs that I’m thankful for? For starters, while I was chowing down on turkey dinner with my nearest and dearest, I was quietly having my best stats day to date! 272 views (from 210 visitors) is obviously small potatoes compared to most career food bloggers out there (and many, many others simply doing this as a hobby like myself), but nonetheless, it was very exciting for me (and only the second time I’ve ever broken 200 views). In addition to that, Food Bloggers of Canada (FBC) was kind enough to feature me as one of their two “Instagrammers We Love” for this week. If you are unfamiliar with FBC, they are an organization boasting over 1900 food blogging members, providing valuable resources, networking, and even opportunities for members to connect with different brands. Finally, local newspapers The Province and The Vancouver Sun have a joint food photography feature called Gastropost, and they included me in this week’s edition. It wasn’t a huge picture (it was of a Thai chicken noodle soup I haven’t yet added to the blog), and I was one of a few dozen contributors, but regardless, it was “published” and my name was included beneath it. So yeah, I’ve had an awesome week worthy of disregarding my sister’s advice.

To top it all off, this morning I gorged myself on some delicious Nutella and banana crepes. Adjusting Betty Crocker’s recipe for basic sweet crepes, these beauties were not only quick and easy to make, but absolutely delicious as well. Actually, I’m not even a fan of either bananas OR sweet breakfasts, and yet I found these crepes very much up to the task of filling my belly and putting a smile on my face. If you want to make them yourself – and I highly recommend you do – then check out the recipe below:


Nutella and Banana Crepes

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour2015-10-11 10.38.25
  • 1 tbsp. packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 tbsp. melted butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1-2 tbsp. butter, for greasing the pan
  • Nutella
  • bananas, sliced
  • icing sugar, for dusting

Directions:

  • Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl and whisk until combined.
  • Add in the milk, eggs, vanilla and melted butter, and whisk vigorously until all ingredients are well-incorporated and the batter has a smooth consistency.
  • Let batter rest for 20-30 minutes before using (optional, but recommended).
  • Heat a large skillet or frying pan over medium heat. Add a small amount of butter to the pan and spread around with a flipper or spatula. The pan will be ready when the butter starts to bubble.
  • Remove the pan from heat, pour in roughly 1/2 cup of batter, and tilt the pan to evenly distribute the batter in a thin layer.
  • Check the crepe until the underside is lightly browned and it’s solid enough to flip. Carefully flip the crepe using a flipper or spatula and continue cooking until the second side is cooked thoroughly and lightly browned as well.
  • Remove to a plate, spread a generous layer of Nutella down the middle of the crepe, top the Nutella with banana slices, fold over the sides, and dust with icing sugar.
  • Repeat the process of buttering the pan and cooking the crepes until all the batter is used, making sure to adjust the amount of batter used if you’re finding you aren’t using enough to coat the pan entirely, or if the crepes are too thick and need to be thinned slightly. (Note that you can usually add the toppings and finish preparing your most recently-cooked crepe between pouring and flipping your next crepe).

Makes 6-7 large crepes


nutella banana crepe From James to Jamie

14 thoughts on “85 – Nutella and Banana Crepes

  1. Your an Instagrammer that I love too! Sounds like a great week in the blogosphere to you, and I hope that your stats only continue to rise. In other news, I LOVE these crepes. I’ve been in a chocolate covered frozen banana phase lately. (I eat them for breakfast, but we’ll pretend I eat them for dessert instead.) So, these certainly embrace some of my favorite flavors. Plus, they look beautiful as well. I’ll keep an eye out for you on Instagram too! Happy FF, and have a fabulous weekend!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Kaila. I’m not big on bananas personally (I think it’s a family trait – my sister ended up modifying the crepes I made her, adding apples and cinnamon instead), but it’s crazy how well they go with chocolate. Happy FF to you, too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Find this interesting? Post a comment

