82 – Sausage, Potato and Bell Pepper Frittata

Only two weeks into the school year, and I’m already feeling under the weather (and it’s currently raining and windy outside, so it’s not something I’m happy about being beneath). It could be worse, as my wife has been hit even harder than myself. We’re not in bed-ridden mode by any means, but just feeling bad enough to regrettably skip a good friend’s birthday at a local microbrewery. Thankfully, bailing means that we’ll have to invite them over for dinner soon, and I’m always a fan of hosting, even when my guests are vegetarians. I really need to expand my repertoire of meatless dishes, and hosting them forces me to do so.

Yesterday, I dreamed up a delicious dinner, but then couldn’t muster the energy to pull it off. Had the ingredients all been ready and at my disposal, I’m sure I could have pulled it off. The necessary trip to the grocery store was the straw in the classic straw/camel/broken back metaphor.

Oh well – today is always a new day, right?! Grocery shopping before noon and knocking off my first-ever frittata helped prove to myself that I might already be on the mend. Although, I did burn the bottom slightly, so I guess I’m not quite on my A-game at the moment.

I found some advice for frittatas online, and I’m pretty happy with the end result. The only issue I found was the aforementioned bottom that was a little too dark in some places. Distracted, I left the skillet on the element a tiny bit longer than I should have, so I’ll be sure to monitor that much more closely next time. Aside from that, it wasn’t too shabby of an effort for a guy who was too sick to drive to Vancouver simply for the sake of eating and drinking with friends the night before.


Sausage, Potato and Bell Pepper Frittata

Ingredients:

  • 8 eggs (preferably higher welfare)2015-09-20 11.55.45
  • 2 cups frozen hashbrowns
  • 2 smoked cheddar jalapeno sausages, chopped (or other “smokie” style sausages)
  • 1 large green bell pepper, cut into rings, then halved
  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup mixed Italian cheese, shredded (plus extra for sprinkling)
  • olive oil

Directions:

  • In a large skillet over medium heat, add a tbsp. of olive oil and the hashbrowns, and cook until warm and slightly browned. Remove from the skillet and set aside.
  • Add another lug of oil and toss in the sausages and pepper. Cook until peppers and slightly softened and the sausage is heated through. Add the hashbrowns back to the skillet, and mix all these components well, spreading them out to create an even layer.
  • In a large bowl, combine the eggs, sour cream, and salt and pepper. Whisk until well incorporated. Stir in the shredded cheese and stir to combine.
  • Pour the egg mixture over the contents in the skillet and tilt the skillet slightly to evenly distribute the mixture over the entire pan.
  • Cook on the element for about 3 minutes. Be careful not to cook too long over the element, or the bottom will burn.
  • Sprinkle a little bit of extra cheese over the top of the frittata (about 1/4 cup), then toss in an oven pre-heated to 350°F and bake for 25 minutes. Alternately, you could add the extra sprinkled cheese halfway through the baking process, if desired.
  • Remove from the oven and let cool for a few minutes before serving, preferably with hot sauce doused on top.

Serves 4-5


2015-09-20 11.55.21

frittata


6 thoughts on “82 – Sausage, Potato and Bell Pepper Frittata

  1. I bet this would be delicious cold as well, as in a Spanish type tapas. I love frittatas and this one looks delicious. Glad you are on the mend.

    Send some of that rain south to N CA, we need it!

    Like

Find this interesting? Post a comment

