79 – Whole Wheat Cheddar and Goat Cheese Quiche

It’s always so hard coming up with names for some of the delicious dishes I make over here at From James to Jamie. I probably sound like a broken record saying that, but it’s totally true. I really wanted to call this “His and Hers Quiche”, but it really wouldn’t have expressed much about it what’s actually inside. I mean, you would obviously gather that it has some sort of crust, some eggs…some sort of cheese…maybe onions? Does a quiche usually have that, or is it just all of mine that do? I could have called it “Tomato, Onion and Bacon Quiche with a Whole Wheat Crust, with 50% of it Covered in Marbled Cheddar, and 50% of it Covered in Goat Cheese, as per the Preferences of my Wife and I.” Very informative, but probably not ideal…

I based this quiche off of one I made much earlier in this year-long recipe challenge endeavor, using the same ingredients and baking times for the crust and the egg mixture (aside from the fact that I used whole wheat crust this time around). Though I like whole wheat once in a while, I think my next quiche will probably have a 50/50 mix of whole wheat and white flour.

I’m actually on another quiche-making binge, as I brought one over to my parents’ place for brunch last weekend, which reminded me of how much I enjoy making – and devouring – them. Last week’s quiche was filled with cheddar cheese, broccoli, bacon and hot Italian sausage; it was absolutely amazing and very well received by my parents, sisters, and brothers-in-law. Unfortunately, there was no time to take pictures as we sat down to eat immediately after our arrival, and I didn’t want to miss all the fun (and food) by going outside to take food pictures.

That’s actually been the case with a lot of meals lately. I’ve been hosting friends for dinner, or Fantasy Football drafts, and haven’t had opportunities to document visually. I would love to share my favourite crab or spinach and artichoke dip recipes, or the quiche from last weekend, but pictures with natural light just haven’t been possible. Oh well, it just means I’ll have to make them all again soon…which I’m definitely not complaining about.

For now though, here’s my “Whole Wheat Cheddar and Goat Cheese Quiche”, a delicious brunch dish that appeals to both those for whom goat cheese is a treat, and those who’d rather avoid it. You can probably tell from the pictures which sides my wife and I fall on for that.


Whole Wheat Cheddar and Goat Cheese Quiche

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup cold salted butter, cubed
  • 1/4 cup ice water
  • 5 strips of bacon
  • olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3 small vine-ripened tomatoes, diced
  • 1 1/2 tsp. corn starch
  • 4 large eggs, preferably from higher welfare chickens
  • 1 cup milk
  • sea salt and pepper
  • 1 cup shredded marble cheddar
  • 2-4 oz. pre-crumbled goat cheese (depending on preference)

Directions:

  • Combine the flour and butter in a food processor and pulse until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Pour in the ice water, while pulsing, until fully combined.
  • Pour dough onto parchment paper and bring the corners of the paper together so that the dough gathers into a tight pile. Squeeze the pile tightly together to form a ball. It may be necessary to work the dough for about 30 seconds so that it doesn’t crumble while rolling out.
  • Roll out the dough so that it fits your 10-inch quiche pan. Rolling out your dough between layers of parchment paper helps avoid sticking to counters and rolling pins, but this can be done on a well-floured surface as well.
  • Lay your crust down inside your quiche pan, making sure it doesn’t bubble in any spots, and so that it’s pushed up on the sides. Cut any excess dough off the edges.
  • Place in the freezer for 15 minutes up to half an hour.
  • Remove the crust from the freezer, cover with tin foil, and fill with either pie weights or dry beans. Place in an oven preheated to 400°F and bake for about 20-25 minutes.
  • Remove from the oven, remove the pie weights and foil, and set aside to cool. Decrease the oven temperature to 350.
  • While the crust is baking, work on the filling. Cook and dice the bacon, sauté the onions in a lug of olive oil until near-translucent, and grate the cheddar cheese.
  • In a bowl, combine the eggs, milk and corn starch, and whisk until well-incorporated. Season with about 2 pinches of sea salt, and about a pinch of pepper
  • Once the filling is ready and the crust has baked and cooled slightly, mix the tomatoes, onion, and bacon together. Pour these ingredients into the crust and spread around evenly. Sprinkle the cheddar over half of the quiche, and the goat cheese over the other half (or double the amount of either cheese, remove the other entirely, and make the entire quiche with only one type of cheese).
  • Pour the egg mixture overtop of the entire quiche, careful not to overfill (meaning you may have a little bit of egg mixture left over, depending on the height of your quiche crust and depth of your pan). Note that placing a pizza tray underneath your quiche pan can help prevent the egg mixture from breaching the walls of your crust and spilling out, making a mess.
  • Place in the oven and bake for about 35 minutes, when the egg should be set and slightly puffed-up.
  • Remove from the oven and let cool for 10 minutes before slicing and enjoying.

Serves 4-5


his and hers quiche 2015-09-06 13.31.36 2015-09-06 13.30.33 Whole Wheat Cheddar and Goat Cheese Quiche


15 thoughts on “79 – Whole Wheat Cheddar and Goat Cheese Quiche

  1. Sometimes my recipe names change multiple times, but usually I stick to less creative names. I would have liked a “His and Hers Quiche” just as much. I love all the flavors you have in this quiche, and I’m sure it will be devoured quickly at the fiesta. Thank you so much for bringing this dish to the party, and I hope you have a fabulous weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I quite like the “His and Her Quiche” …it’s unique and succinct and while not as descriptive, intriguing enough for me to read on to find out why. That being said, I evidently found the selected recipe title just as appealing! (The word quiche, and then paired with two delicious cheeses is definitely enough for me!) What a gorgeous quiche, all golden and cheesey.
    It’s great seeing food photos, but only when it doesn’t get in the way of enjoying food/company…and as you said, you can always make something again!

    Liked by 1 person

Find this interesting? Post a comment

