73 – Blueberry & Peach Junior Galette

Is there a fruit or vegetable out there that you really enjoy, and yet you have never had a craving for it? I’m talking about a food that, if put in front of you, you’ll absolutely demolish (with a smile) – yet you never go out of your way to eat it in the first place. For me, peaches fall into that category. I simply don’t get cravings for this succulent stone fruit; I’m never “in the mood for a peach”. That being said, any time my mother would place a bowl before my childhood self that had been filled with sliced peaches, sugar, and milk, it was as good as gone.

I still have that issue with certain healthy foods: if my wife places them in front of me and prepares them to my liking (I’m talking basics here, like apples slices rather than whole apples), I’ll absolutely go to town on them. The same food, stored away in the fridge, receives absolutely no attention from me. For some reason, I don’t seek out these foods, despite how much I enjoy them when they’re placed with arm’s reach, and I simply have to take and chew.

Peaches, until now, have been the epitome of this pseudo-complex I have. Despite being one of the tastiest fruits on earth (let’s just admit to that being a straight up fact and not an opinion, okay?), I don’t think I’ve ever gone out of my way to eat one. Would I like one? Heck yeah. Am I willing to get up off my lazy butt to cut up one myself? Strangely, no.

That’s all changed now with this dessert. This “Junior Galette” (not to be confused with the NFL player actually named Junior Galette) is quick and easy to make – not to mention absolutely delicious. Looking at the recipe it might seem long, but I almost feel as though it took longer to write than to actually do. The big time delays come from chilling the butter and the dough, as well as the time spent baking; on the other hand, the prep itself is essentially a cake run (which is like a cake walk, only much faster).

The recipe for the dough has been slightly adapted from Martha Stewart, and the filling is all my own. A big thanks to my mother for buying peaches from B.C.’s Okanagan last week while they were still hard, then letting me steal a few once they eventually ripened. Oh, and I “borrowed” the blueberries from her as well (I’m beginning to think I should have at least shared some of the final product with her…oops!). In addition, I want to thank Food Bloggers of Canada for sharing my preview of this galette on Instagram. Last night was the first time I’d submitted any photos to them in the hopes of being featured, and I was absolutely not expecting to be selected so quickly for such an honour.

Alas, we must be getting to the recipe. As I said, it looks long and arduous, but it’s actually quite fast and simple.


Blueberry & Peach Junior Galette

Ingredients:

For the dough:

(The ingredient amounts for the dough produce 3 junior galette crusts)2015-08-02 20.00.54

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, cut into 1 cm cubes
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 1/2 cup ice water

For the filling:

(The ingredient amounts for the filling represent a single junior galette. Double or triple the amounts if making two or three junior galettes, respectively).

  • 1 peach, pealed and sliced
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 tsp. lemon juice

Others Ingredients:

  • egg wash (1 beaten egg + 1 tbsp. water, mixed)
  • sugar, for sprinkling

Directions:

  • Place 3/4 of the butter in the freezer to chill for 30 minutes. Place the other 1/4 in the fridge for the same time.
  • In a food processor, combine the flour, sugar, and salt, and pulse to combine. Add the refrigerated butter and pulse about a dozen times. Then, add the butter from the freezer and pulse until the mixture resembles coarse meal (having some pea-size clumps of butter still noticeable).
  • Add the ice water and pulse until it’s been incorporated, about a dozen more times. At this point, test the dough by squeezing a bit together between your fingers; if it doesn’t hold together nicely, pulse the dough a few more times.
  • Remove 1/3 of the dough (it will still be almost “crumbly” at this point) to a large piece of wax paper. Use the wax paper to press the dough into 1/2 to 1 inch thick discs. You can simply squeeze the dough together inside the wax paper, making sure the dough bonds together, and press into disk shapes afterwards. Using the paper helps to prevent your hands from warming up the dough too much, and it very conveniently presses the dough together without much mess.
  • Repeat the process twice more, creating three disks of dough. Refrigerate for at least half an hour, or up to two days.
  • To prepare the filling, simply combine all the filling ingredients in a bowl and toss/stir until well combined.
  • Remove the dough from the fridge and let sit for a few minutes so it warms up slightly, making it easier to roll. On a lightly dusted counter, roll out the dough to a roughly 9-10 inch diameter.
  • Trim the edges of the crust to create a hexagon (it can be irregular, uneven sides) and make a 1 1/2 inch cut on each of the sides to help with the folding (if you have quite a bit of excess trimmings, consider collecting, re-rolling, and using it to make little blueberry/peach tarts).
  • Transfer the galette crust to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  • Spoon the filling into the middle of the galette, spreading it out in an even layer. By spooning out the filling, you will have a spoonful or two of excess liquid left in the bowl the filling was in. I opted not to add the extra liquid, but it shouldn’t hurt the overall quality of the galette if you were to add it as well.
  • For the corners of the galette dough over the filling, pressing down on any seams to help seal in the filling.
  • Brush the top portion of the crust with the egg wash, and sprinkle with sugar.
  • Place in an oven pre-heated to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and bake for 40 minutes.
  • Once the filling is bubbly and the crust is golden brown, remove from the oven and allow to rest for a few minutes.
  • Slice up the galette and serve with vanilla ice cream

Each junior galette serves 2-3


2015-08-02 19.52.40

2015-08-02 20.01.13

Blueberry and Peach Junior Galettes 2

4 thoughts on “73 – Blueberry & Peach Junior Galette

Find this interesting? Post a comment

