63 – Chickpea, Avocado and Goat Cheese Feta Salad

The accompaniment to my White Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese with Bacon recipe from a few nights ago, this salad is as simple and delicious as the name suggests. Do you like chickpeas? How about avocado? And what about goat cheese feta? Do you like slaving over a hot oven in the middle of summer, throwing hours of your life away with prepping and cooking? Well, this recipe has three of those things! (To be honest, I sort of love all four of those things, I but I know not everybody appreciates that last one).

As I’m sure you’ve gathered, the last question – that of hot ovens and hours spent in the kitchen – is the outlier; it’s the one thing this recipe doesn’t include. Actually, this recipe includes a few more ingredients other than those in the title, but it was already getting a bit long. Although, “Chickpea, Avocado, Goat Cheese Feta, Cilantro, Green Onion, and Lime Juice (with Salt and Pepper Added to Taste) Salad” does have a nice ring to it, doesn’t it? Yeah, maybe not.

As I know nothing about salads myself, I relied heavily on a recipe I found online over at TwoPeasAndTheirPod.com. I should point out that my recipe only used 1 1/2 avocados instead of 2, but only so that I’d still have half an avocado left for taking pictures – this blog isn’t successful enough at this point to allow me to buy an additional piece of fruit just to slice open and photograph. Maybe one day, though – a guy can dream, can’t he? Also, I had goat cheese feta kicking around the house, so I threw it in despite my wife Mateja’s preference for regular feta. Lastly, I just want to throw out a friendly reminder that some people absolutely loathe cilantro and can only handle it in small doses. As this salad literally takes 10 minutes to make, you can always simply throw it together after having polled those partaking of it, deciding on a reasonable dose of the controversial herb at that time. Seriously, some people just can’t handle it.

Anyways, let’s get to the recipe, as you’ll need all the time you can get throwing this massively complicated, delicately intricate dish together. Try not to get overwhelmed as your making this – just keep reminding yourself that the end is within site, and you’ll do just fine.


Chickpea, Avocado and Goat Cheese Feta Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (19 fl. oz.) chickpeas, rinsed and drained2015-07-02 18.58.43
  • 1 1/2 – 2 avocados, cut into small cubes
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/8 – 1/4 cup chopped cilantro leaves (depending on your love/hate of this ingredient)
  • 1 stalk green onion
  • 1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese feta
  • salt & pepper, to taste

Directions:

  • Put the first six ingredients into a bowl, toss, and taste. Then, add a small amount of salt and pepper, tasting and increasing the amount if necessary.
  • Eat and feel good about the healthy choice you just made.

Serves 3-4 as a side


2015-07-02 18.45.44
Totally the yin to the bacon mac & cheese’s yang in this somewhat balanced meal. Note that the Frank’s Red Hot is for the macaroni, but features in a few of the salad’s pictures.
2015-07-02 18.49.35 (2)
Not quite the pairing suggested on the label, but this 2011 “The Shiraz Grinder” was very tasty nonetheless. It’s always risky trying new wines, but I highly recommend picking up this bottle and trying it out.

2015-07-02 18.51.37

2015-07-02 18.53.19

2015-07-02 18.57.52

2015-07-02 18.57.40-1

Chickpea Avocado & Goat Cheese Feta Salad

5 thoughts on “63 – Chickpea, Avocado and Goat Cheese Feta Salad

  1. What an inventive salad. I would never have thought of mixing avocado and chickpeas but it looks delicious, I have to try this (with the cilantro that I just learnt to like!) 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s definitely a delicious combination, but I can by no means take credit for coming up with it. I also learned to enjoy cilantro only recently, but it now features prominently in my meals posted here.

      Liked by 1 person

Find this interesting? Post a comment

