61 – Burritos in Bed (Breakfast Burritos)

Land of the also-free, and home of the also-brave – not to mention the birthplace of the infallibly polite and the nation of the mild-mannered – I am incredibly proud – nay, privileged – to live in this place we call Canada. To celebrate my nation’s “birthday” as some call it (July 1st being Canada Day), I decided to whip up a breakfast with some colours that help represent my country, or the colours on its flag at least. For the red, we have both peppers and salsa, and for the white, sour cream.

Thankfully, I’m not American (relax, I mean that for one reason, and one reason only…); Otherwise (this is that one reason), I’d be making these burritos a few days from now, and the only thing I could add to match the flag is, well, blueberries. I think we can all agree that’s probably not the smartest addition to sausage, eggs, and cheese.

Actually, Canada Day had nothing to do with these burritos, aside from the day they were made on…I said that because I’ve seen so many Foodgawker posts with 4th of July themes, and I just wanted to be included. I’m sorry.

So – please excuse the delay – here’s the super easy, somewhat vague recipe (because it’s almost too damn easy anyways):


Burritios in Bed (Breakfast Burritos)

Ingredients:

  • 6 pork breakfast sausages2015-07-01 11.31.37
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, roughly chopped
  • 5 eggs, preferably free range
  • cheddar cheese, grated
  • olive oil
  • vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 5 tortillas
  • salsa (I used Old El Paso Thick n’ Chunky)
  • sour cream
  • hot sauce (I used Frank’s Red Hot)

Directions:

  • Cut the sausages into 1/4 inch pieces and fry over medium heat with a lug of olive oil until fully cooked.
  • While the sausage is cooking, toss the peppers into another frying pan and sauté over medium heat with a lug of vegetable oil.
  • After the peppers have cooked 3-4 minutes, toss in the onion and sauté for another few minutes.
  • Crack the eggs into a glass and season lightly with salt and pepper, then scramble the eggs.  Once the onion is cooked and slightly softened (we’re not going for caramelized here, think onion ring tender), pour the eggs over the peppers and onion and stir until all the egg is cooked. Taste, and season with salt and pepper.
  • Take 1/5 of the egg/pepper/onion mixture, `1/5 of the cooked sausage, and a small handful of cheese (or a large one – no judgements here), and wrap them up into a tortilla. Toss on a Panini maker and grill until the cheese is melted. Repeat with the rest of the ingredients until you have 5 hot and delicious grilled burritos.
  • Serve with hot sauce, salsa and sour cream, preferably doused/slathered over every bite.

Makes 5 burritos


2015-07-01 11.33.58

2015-07-01 12.38.28

instagram burritos in bed

instagram burritos in bed pinterest

***************** (Updated 07/03/2015 with new pictures) ********************

These were so good, I had to make them again – that, and I wasn’t fully satisfied with the first set of pictures. Still working on the whole photography thing (doesn’t help that my best lens has no auto focus), but I think these are at least a little better. I should disclose though, that I filled these puppies a bit fuller than last time, meaning the recipe would only make four burritos in total. Four jam-packed, super delicious breakfast burritos.

2015-07-03 12.12.25

2015-07-03 12.14.22

2015-07-03 12.15.19

2015-07-03 12.22.08

2015-07-03 11.52.06

Find this interesting? Post a comment

