56 – Bacon Biscuit Eggs Benedict

So it’s sort of fitting that I’m talking Eggs Bennys today, seeing as it’s both Father’s Day (here in Canada and the U.S., at least) and, coincidentally, my own father’s favourite breakfast. When we go out for family brunches, it’s pretty much a shoo-in that he’ll order some variation of the dish. It’s also a shoo-in that he won’t be alone. Either my wife orders the exact same thing (or a second variation, if available), or I do – or both. It’s exciting then, that I can make this dish with relative ease; it took an unsuccessful attempt or two, but I can now pull it off without too many hitches.

With my mention of earlier attempts, you can obviously tell that this isn’t my first benedict rodeo. I’m including this in my “100 new recipes challenge” regardless, as the substitution of homemade biscuits over store-bought English muffins is a new addition to me – and a very delicious one at that!

The recipe is a combination Martha Stewart (the biscuits), and a combination Betty Crocker Cookbook (the hollandaise). The choice of bacon over a more traditional Canadian bacon (aka back bacon) is more so about economics and availability than anything else. I love tradition, and would have opted for the patriotic pork had it been a smart choice. Ironically though, Canadian bacon isn’t widely available where I live (my butcher was out), and the stuff that I can find is priced well above what I’m willing to pay.

As it is Father’s Day, I best get to the recipe quickly, as we’re heading out shortly to celebrate. Our family (minus my older sister and her own little brood) are heading out to Point Roberts for the day. If you’ve never been, or ever heard of it, it’s quite the anomaly. Essentially, it’s a tiny piece of the Washington State, despite the fact that it’s surrounded by Canada and the Straight of Georgia; essentially, it’s an American island even though it’s attached to land. I think I’m explaining this poorly – maybe just Google it, okay?

Anyways, we’ll be grabbing brunch there, and I’m willing to bet that should eggs benny be on the menu, that’s what my dad will be having. Me – I haven’t decided yet. Having made my bacon biscuit variety yesterday, I may want to opt for something less repetitive; then again, I like to compare my homemade stuff with what restaurants are serving. Decisions, decisions…

In the meantime, here’s the recipe. As I mentioned, it’s Martha Stewart and Betty Crocker mashed together; if I didn’t mention already, it was pretty freakin’ great.


Bacon Biscuit Eggs Benedict

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour2015-06-20 13.46.49
  • 1 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 tbsp. unsalted butter, chilled
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp. milk
  • 9 eggs (6 whole eggs, 3 yolks)
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
  • 12-18 pieces of bacon, depending on size
  • paprika, for serving

Directions:

  • Start on the biscuits first. Combine the flour, baking powder and salt in a large bowl. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Add the milk to the bowl and stir with a fork until all the flour has been absorbed into the dough.
  • Kneed the dough a few times, without working it too much (the more you work it, the more dense and less flaky it will be). Separate the dough into three equal pieces, and shape into puck-like shapes (you can also roll out the dough and cut our circular shapes for a more put-together look). Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, and bake for 12-15 minutes at 450, checking on them in the last few minutes. When they are finished, remove to a cooling rack.
  • Once the biscuits are in the oven, get to work on the hollandaise. Separate the yolk out of three eggs, and add them to a medium-sized saucepan. Add the lemon juice to the yolks and whisk until combined.
  • Take 1/4 cup of the butter, cut it into a few, more manageable pieces, and add to the saucepan. Place the saucepan over low heat and whisk constantly until all the butter is dissolved. Once the first batch of butter is gone, repeat the same process with the other 1/4 cup.
  • Once all the butter is melted, continue to cook the hollandaise over low heat, stirring constantly, until the sauce thickens. To help judge thickness, splash the hollandaise against the side of the saucepan while whisking; once the sauce begins to coat the side of the saucepan (instead of leaving a nearly opaque film), the sauce is done.
  • Remove the sauce from heat, cover, and get started on the bacon and eggs. For the bacon, simply fry them up to your desired level of doneness. For the eggs, poach them for 3-4 minutes (this keeps the yolks runny), then remove with a slotted spoon to a plate covered in paper towel.
  • Pat dry the eggs, then assemble your eggs bennies. The biscuits should definitely be done and have had a chance to cool by this point, so slice them in half and arrange two on each place. Next, layer the bacon on top, then the poached egg. Spoon some warm hollandaise sauce overtop and sprinkle with paprika.
  • Cut into the egg, watch the yolk ooze out, and then dig in!

Serves 3


2015-06-20 13.46.38

2015-06-20 13.46.18

2015-06-20 13.42.11

bacon biscuit eggs benedict

Update: I didn’t get this posting out in time before actually going for brunch with the family. Sure enough, my dad got eggs benny. In fact, everybody got some variation. Mateja and I both had crabs bennies; honestly, my homemade ones were better. The restaurant’s smoked salmon ones, though…damn those looked good.

5 thoughts on “56 – Bacon Biscuit Eggs Benedict

Find this interesting? Post a comment

