44 – Tiramisu

This is going to be short and just-the-right-amount-of sweet, not unlike this tiramisu that I made last night. My poor wife saw me crafting this tasty dessert (and technically, helped finance it), and only got to try a tiny sliver; I made it for a school potluck lunch, and I didn’t want to bring it in with a hearty chunk missing. Because she missed out (in a huge way, because it was quite delicious) I don’t want to rub it in too badly with a long, drawn out post on how wonderful it was.

In fact…honey, if you’re reading this, know that it totally sucked. The sliver you ate – that you think tasted okay – was a strange anomaly. The rest of the tiramisu was somehow too wet and too dry at the same time, and was half-way to being spoiled by the time it was served. You missed out on nothing! Now stop reading the rest of this post. I bet it’ll be about as bad as the tiramisu, which is saying something, as it was totally gross.

But seriously, I took it into school where it received the type of rave reviews that I’d hoped for to satisfy my insatiable need for praise. Had my colleagues not said anything, the results would have still spoken for themselves: with brownies, cupcakes, and carrot cake all around, it was the only dessert to get demolished. Technically there was one portion left remaining towards the end of lunch – as eating the last of anything is considered very un-Canadian – but I took the opportunity to have seconds, polishing off the rest. It’s also very un-Canadian of me to brag that my dessert was more popular than others, but I’ve been channelling my inner Italian as of late, so “Mi scusi!” (sorry!).

I used my recently-purchased cookbook, The Silver Spoon, as my guide. The book included a picture of tiramisu, but I could swear there’s no way to make what was shown using the recipe that was given. As I started making the dish, I realized that I needed to make a few adjustments – unbelievably, too much chocolate was called for – so the recipe you see below is inspired by The Silver Spoon, but adjusted enough to be my own.


Tiramisu

Ingredients:DSC_0299

  • 2 heaping tbsp. ground coffee beans (preferably Italian)
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups water
  • 4 eggs, separated (2 egg whites, 4 yolks)
  • 1 3/4 cups mascarpone cheese
  • 1 1/4 cups icing sugar
  • ~ 20 ladyfingers
  • 4-5 oz. semi-sweet chocolate, grated

Method:

  • Before anything else, brew the coffee using a French press. Place coffee in fridge or freezer to cool, placing in a container not susceptible to cracking under sudden changes in temperature.
  • In an mixer, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form, then set aside.
  • Combine the sugar and egg yolks in a bowl and beat until well-mixed and fluffy, preferably using a hand mixer.
  • Mix in the mascarpone cheese with a spatula.
  • Fold in the egg whites gently, making sure to incorporate well.
  • Assemble your tiramisu, creating layers of coffee-soaked ladyfingers, mascarpone cream, and chocolate in a 6-cup dish.
    • Dip the ladyfingers, one at a time, into the coffee, removing after only a second of full-submersion; any longer, and the ladyfingers will get too soggy and fall apart in your hands. Line the bottom of the dish with a full layer of soaked ladyfingers.
    • Cover the coffee-soaked ladyfingers in a layer of the mascarpone cream, and sprinkle a thin layer of chocolate over the cream.
    • Repeat these steps until all ingredients are used up. The dimensions of the dish I used allowed for 2 layers of each in total, with 9 ladyfingers in the first row, and 11 in the next.
  • Cover, place in the fridge, and let sit for at least 3 hours, or overnight.
Serves 4-6

DSC_0287
I ditched the whisk and opted for a hand mixer immediately after this picture was taken.
DSC_0288
The cheese being added in.
DSC_0289
Folding in the egg whites.
DSC_0290
The mascarpone cream, with the egg whites fully incorporated.
DSC_0291
The ladyfingers, pre-soaking.
DSC_0295
So much chocolate left over after grating the amount The Silver Spoon originally called for.
tiramisu
The best picture I have. I’m disappointed that I don’t have a picture of it being served, cut nicely in a square. At the same time, bringing in my DSLR camera, walking outside with a serving, and taking photos in front of confused students isn’t ideal.

Not being able to serve this dish myself thanks to the potluck-style dining, I don’t have any nicely-plated pictures. I did take a picture of the aftermath though, which makes me almost as happy as happy as having a potential Foodgawker-worthy shot.

Success!

Anyways, this post is taking longer to create than the dish itself, so…until next time, happy cooking!

5 thoughts on “44 – Tiramisu

  1. My husband is supposed to bring in some sort of baked goods for work next week, which translates into me baking something for him to take 🙂 This looks delicious and with those kind of rave reviews I’ll have to give it a try!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Julie! This is actually our first potluck since I started food blogging, so I’ve gone the lazy route in the past and brought store-bought items. It’s much nicer bringing something from home, though.

      Liked by 1 person

Find this interesting? Post a comment

