39 – Hasselback Potatoes

If only I’d known it was this easy! Seriously…

If only I’d known that it was so easy to create such an amazing, standout, impress-everybody-within-a-ten-mile-radius side of potatoes, I would’ve done it ages ago. The wasted years of not using this technique, of serving something boiled and mashed and altogether far too ordinary, those will haunt me well into my golden years. Regret overwhelms me…

Okay, so maybe (just maybe) I’m being a little overdramatic. It’s just, well, that these potatoes were not only delicious, but they looked totally baller. And, for the record, I don’t normally use the word “baller”; new and improved, Hasselback Potato-making James, on the other hand – he totally does, like, all the time.

Jokes aside, these potatoes were not only delicious, but extremely simple to prepare. While I didn’t really use a recipe (it’s as simply as wash, cut, add butter, sprinkle salt and pepper, cook, add more butter, cook, then devour), I used advice from thekitchn.com to help guide me. Absolutely every ingredient I used on my Russet potatoes  – unsalted butter, salt, and pepper – went unmeasured, based off of guesswork and feel. In the end, it made for a fancy-looking (or “baller) side dish that not only earned the affection of my wife, but seemed to also impress the guests we had over for dinner last night.

As the pork chops that accompanied it are also a brand new recipe for me (that one being from Mr. Jamie Oliver himself), you will notice some overlap of pictures. To prevent overlap of anecdotes, and to emphasize how simple this dish is (really, almost too simple to warrant its own post), I’m keeping this brief.

DSC_1179
No real time for super-posed shots, as these were about to be served to our guests. Thanks to the glass baking dish, you can see my favourite trivet/wall art underneath, which features First Nations artwork local to British Columbia (it really was marketed not only as a trivet, but also as a piece to be displayed on your wall).
DSC_1180
A hint of what’s to come: that little bit of green in the corner is sage that didn’t quite make it where it was supposed to go (on the pork chops).

Hasselback PotatoesThat’s it – super brief. Anyways, until next time, “happy cooking!”


This post is being shared – like a few of my others – over at Fiesta Friday, which is co-hosted this week by Anna @ Anna International, and the ever-present Angie @ The Novice Gardener. Thanks to both ladies for putting in the time and effort into what, for me, has become a great source of views, borrowed ideas, and blog-world contacts. Happy FF, everybody!

8 thoughts on “39 – Hasselback Potatoes

Find this interesting? Post a comment

