33 – Whiskey-Infused Chocolate-Pecan Tart

cuba1
Just Mateja, myself, a beautiful old car, and the beach…and some lady just getting into the shot! Oh well, the perfect paradise is one where we learn to live in harmony with others, even unintentional photobombers.

The old myth is that it takes 21 days to form a new habit, and sadly, I’m about halfway there. I haven’t blogged in over a week and a half, and I’m noticing how much harder than usual it’s been to get this post started. The reason it has been so long since my last post, however, is a good one: I’ve been busy experiencing the sights and sounds of Cuba (as well as the tastes, of course).

To those of you who haven’t yet travelled to Cuba, I highly recommend that you go. It’s a beautiful country not only in terms of natural scenery, but also architecture, wildlife, and culture. The food in the resorts – or at least our resort, and the resorts of most other tourists we met – can leave you wanting; however, outside those bubbles there we delicious staples to be sampled. Once I have more time on my hands and a craving for rice and beans, I’ll do a larger post highlighting both my experiences in Cuba, and some sort of traditional dish. For today though, I’ll simply share a picture or two from my most recent travels, and channel my inner Cuban with an alcohol-infused dish.

cuba 2
The view from my lounger. I know it’s not ideal to share pictures of bare feet in food blogs, but I hope we can make an exception here.

The inspiration for this tart came from my few weeks worth of participating in a blogging party called “Fiesta Friday“. It’s really nice to have a place where I can not only share the occasional recipe I’ve tried and posted here, but also peruse the interesting dishes others have decided to share. It was in this perusing that I came across a dish that had me not only craving it, but honestly making me feel as though I wasn’t complete until I’d tasted its wonderful richness; that dish was Mademoiselle Gourmande’s Chocolate Tart with Pears and Vanilla Cream.

Not wanting to copy hers verbatim (partly due to the recipe calling for vanilla bean, which I wasn’t sure would be readily available), and hoping to reunite with a seldom-used dessert book sitting unloved on our bookshelf, I instead chose a similar dish instead.

Failing to actually include rum in my recent Mojo Chicken attempt, I was instantly drawn to a recipe that I could redeem myself with: Bon Appetit Desserts’
Chocolate-Pecan Tart. Not only did it have the chocolate tart aspect I was looking for, but the recipe also called for Bourbon! I admit it would have been nicer had it required rum, seeing as we now have nearly three litres of primo quality Havana Club in our liquor cabinet, but I dare not complain too much about a recipe forcing me to acquire a mickey of whiskey.

As I haven’t located the recipe anywhere else online, and I made a few adjustments to it myself, I’ll post my slightly adapted version in full:


The Crust:

Whisk together 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour, 3 packed tablespoons of brown sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Then, stir in 1/2 cup melted butter (unsalted). Once all the dry ingredients are moist and the mixture starts forming into clumps, spoon evenly into a tart pan and press down with your fingers until you have an even layer on the bottom, and the crust goes up the side of the pan. (Note that I could have easily used 10-15% more ingredients for the crust, as it was very thin in places and did not reach the top of the pan all around).

Place the crust in a preheated oven and bake at 375º F for 10 minutes (no pie weights required).

The Filling:

Whisk together 1 cup packed brown sugar, 2 large eggs, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 2 tablespoons melted butter (unsalted), 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, and 1 1/2 tablespoons whiskey. (The original recipe called for bourbon, but I bought a mickey of Canadian blended whiskey that was much more reasonable than the $30+ bottles of Bourbon on offer).

Once these ingredients are thoroughly mixed, stir in 1 1/2 cups of pecan pieces and 100 grams of 70% cocoa dark chocolate, chopped/diced to smithereens. At this stage, if you aren’t afraid of a little raw egg, have a taste (it’s heavenly) and add extra whiskey as per your preference. Once thoroughly combined, pour into the prepared crust and bake at 375º F for 15-20 minutes, until set.

The Whiskey Whipped Cream:

With an electric mixer, beat together 1 cup whipping cream, 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar (granulated), and 1 1/2 tablespoons whiskey (or more, to taste).

Once the tart has had a chance to cool, but while still with some heat retained, cut into generous slices and add a dollop of the whipped cream.


DSC_1077
The crust, before baking. As you can tell from the far side that I’ve intentionally kept out of focus, the crust was definitely not excessive by any means.
DSC_1080
Taste-testing this mixture was the highlight of my night. I nearly changed my blog name to “Bourbon and Brown Sugar” after sampling it – it was that good.
DSC_1084
I figured a special blend of Canadian Whiskey that didn’t self-identify as Rye would be my best bet, so I went with this mickey of Wiser’s. It did not disappoint.
DSC_1086
The tart, getting ready for baking. I love the look of the pre-baked tart more – something about the way it glistens. In the background you can probably tell that I’m trying half trying create an artsy shot with the Le Creuset teapot and items I used to prep this dish, and half trying to disguise the fact that the counter is in actuality a complete mess.
DSC_1088
The completed tart, showing cracks from removing it too soon from its pan. You can clearly tell the crust didn’t sufficiently reach to the top of the pan. It holds so well though, I may not even press the dough up the sides next time.
DSC_1090
Money shot #1. How I wish it were pre-dusk and therefore lighted naturally and without so many shadows. That, however, requires finishing the dish way before 10pm.
DSC_1093
Money shot #2 – bird’s-eye view.
whiskey-infused chocolate-pecan tart
Money shot #3 – experimenting with this whole “labeling” thing.

I wish I could say this dish was an instant crowd-pleaser, but I made it late on a work night for a sleepy wife and myself. Had there been a crowd though, I’m quite certain they would have given it rave reviews. My beautiful wife, who revealed just last night of her general lack of craving for all things walnut and/or pecan infused due to overexposure in her youth, was thankfully a fan despite that fact. Actually, I forced her to stay awake long after she’d originally started nodding off on the couch, just to get her opinion on the dessert.

What I’m going to do now though, with 3/4 of a chocolate-pecan tart and only the two of us (with the better half talking of health kicks and practicing healthier eating habits), is anybody’s guess. Had I not been craving a chocolate tart so badly, I might’ve had the good sense to save such a rich recipe for a special occasion with guests to help in its consumption. Oh well, just like the extra whiskey in the house, it’s not a terrible dilemma to have.

Anyways, until next time: happy cooking!


*************( Updated 09/02/2015)*****************

Another tart, another set of photos. After making this dessert a second time, I’m pretty sure I’ll never go back to whipped cream that isn’t infused with whiskey. Just too good.

2015-09-02 19.10.23

2015-09-02 19.11.40

2015-09-02 19.08.32

instagram chocolate pecan tart

9 thoughts on “33 – Whiskey-Infused Chocolate-Pecan Tart

  1. Gorgeous, love anything laced with alcohol and your whiskey infused tart is just the ticket! Glad to hear you enjoyed Cuba…..are you Canadian? :). Can’t wait for us to be able to enjoy it as well, although I daresay it will probably be ruined once the embargo has been lifted :). You should do a post on Cuba, I’d love to read it.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Loretta! And yes, I am Canadian. The moment we heard that relations were being restored with the States, we booked our tickets to see the country before it changed too much. I definitely plan on doing a post looking back at Cuba once I find the right Cuban-inspired dish to go along with such a post.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahhh clever lad, you’re thinking ahead. Truth be told, I’m Canadian too, or gave up that status once I became a US citizen. We come back to Canada often. It will be interesting to see what comes about once the Americans start visiting. 🙂

        Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by – what a brilliant cake! It looks amazing – I have never made anything with pecan nuts before but they do look so appealing … Glad you had a great time in Cuba, it’s one of those places that I always wanted to visit. Now where did I put that bucket list again?

    Liked by 1 person

Find this interesting? Post a comment

