21 – Winging it: Chicken and Pork Stuffed Poblano Peppers

My wife has a friend visiting tonight, and because of that fact, I can’t concentrate for the life of me. I still want to share my creation for the evening though, so I’ll make it short and sweet.

I always tend to follow recipes to the letter (and millilitre), so tonight’s variance from that was quite inspired. I’d made a similar meal with ground turkey in the past, so I had a general basis for the meal, but I really was flying by the seat of my pants. Because it’s not an actual “recipe” that I can link to, I guess I’ll need to provide more detail than usual.

The sauce: butter, flour, milk, salt, pepper, ground cayenne pepper, and jalapeno Monterey jack cheese.

The meats: leftover chicken (leg and breast), fried in olive oil with garlic; ground pork fried with onion in olive oil  and seasoned with salt, pepper, chilli flakes.

The vessels: poblano peppers that I attempted to char, boil, and then strip the skins from. I will admit that this was less than a complete success, but the de-skinning didn’t seem too necessary in the end, anyways.

Poblano stuffed peppers 002
The mixture, right before stuffing commenced. To be honest, I’d already stuffed myself sufficiently on this mixture before an ounce of it made its way into the poblanos.

To put all these components together, I first stirred the meat mixtures into the still-warm, creamy white sauce. After that, I added in some diced fresh tomatoes, stuffed the peppers with this mixture, and threw the stuffed pepper concoction into the oven for about 20 minutes at 350°F. Partway through the baking process I decided that I need some more cheese, so I grated some extra and threw it on the meat/sauce mixture bubbling out of the peppers.

I know the end result was by no means a traditional stuffed poblano – no beans were refried in the making of this meal – but it was definitely a tasty meal. The final product you see below (with the required mashed potatoes) looks somewhat put together, but it’s simply an illusion. The moment I finished taking that picture, I cut the poblano into about two dozen pieces and mixed everything together into a giant, delicious mess.

Poblano stuffed peppers 008
Yeah, my dinner looked like this for about 10 seconds before being a complete mess of awesomeness.

To me, this is the ultimate comfort meal, and I already can’t wait for leftovers tomorrow. I’d better retire to bed so that tomorrow’s lunch comes sooner – just kidding (sort of). So…until my next post – happy cooking!

Find this interesting? Post a comment

