Emmental-Stuffed Chicken Breasts w/ Caramelized Apples and Onions AND No-Bake Cheesecake

Cooking 4 003 Tonight, Mateja and I had the opportunity to do one of our favourite things aside from travelling: hosting friends for dinner. It made for a pretty crazy afternoon of grocery shopping and cooking, but it was well worth it in the end. I’m proud to say that dinner was only half an hour late, though that was with a planned start time of 7pm.

As neither one of these recipes was new to me, I’ve decided to include them as a single post even though they are such a contrast to each other. Personally, if I had to choose between a recipe for chicken that requires me to also make a cheesecake, and one without…I know which one I’m going to choose. You can treat it the same: say you’re trying a new recipe for stuffed chicken, and then make the cheesecake as well, and say the chicken recipe called for it.

With the choices of blogging this meal extensively, or socializing longer with friends, I took the latter. So, here are the links to the recipes:

Emmental-Stuffed Chicken Breast w/ Caramelized Apples and Onions

No-Bake Cheesecake Then come my modifications: For the chicken breast:

  • As you can see from the name I used vs. the recipe I linked to, I used emmental instead of gruyere. This came as a result of initially not finding gruyere at my local Coopers grocer, and needing to drive to Save-On-Foods in the hopes they had a better cheese selection. Upon finding the gruyere and seeing how expensive it was (they only had the real, cave-aged stuff there) I decided to google replacement cheeses, and wound up purchasing some much cheaper emmental. As I’ve made this recipe once before, I can say with confidence that emmental was a very good substitution cheese. In fact, Mateja liked it even better than the gruyere.
  • In addition to cooking the stuffed breasts, I also fried the tenderloins. I knew that if I didn’t cook them immediately, they’d probably end up in the back of the freezer for months. For that reason (and because I ran out last time), I doubled the recipe for the egg/milk dredging mixture, and used more breadcrumbs than required as well. It added extra meat to the dish, which you will never find me complaining about.
  • Instead of currant jelly for the caramelized apples and onions, I used a cherry jelly imported from Croatia. It’s nice to be able to connect back to that part of the world whenever possible, considering Mateja’s heritage and the time she spent there as a child.

For the cheesecake:

  • Cooking 4 008
    Maybe next year I’ll do the cherry glaze from scratch as well, but not tonight!

    I changed the name – that’s it! Whoever posted the recipe seems a little bit big on self-promotion and superlatives, and I’m not so much (though it is a really tasty recipe).

  Now, finally, my comments:

Cooking 4 005
The finished product, sans cheesecake. I decided it was best to plate that separately for obvious reasons.

Awesome.  Simply awesome. Mateja added my favourite salad (I hope to post it one day, but not tonight) and she finished off the mashed potatoes when I boiled them but then got too distracted on the finishing touches of the rest of the meal. Also, our guests seemed to agree with my mine and Mateja’s evaluation of the meal – and I don’t think they were just being polite! So altogether, a great evening of cooking and socializing, and one* great almost-new recipe that I highly recommend. * though it’s two recipes technically, remember that you can call it one big recipe if you need an excuse to make a delicious cheesecake as well

Find this interesting? Post a comment

