06 – Pork Vindaloo

pork vindaloo
My favourite meal of this challenge so far. I paired it with an Old Yale Sasquatch Stout. I know next to nothing about food and beverage pairings, but it’s hard to go wrong with the Canadian Brewing Awards “Beer of the Year”. I’m proud to say that not only is it brewed in my hometown, but that I know the brewmaster as well.

So, the original plan was to make both the Saag Aloo and Pork Vindaloo in the same night, but thankfully that didn’t end up happening. Had I not bitten off more than I could chew and actually wound up making both curried dishes together, there would most definitely be some sad leftover Saag Aloo in the fridge. Given the choice between the two “aloo” options, the pork was by far my favourite. Don’t get me wrong – I enjoyed the Saag (maybe I shouldn’t abbreviate it to that – it just doesn’t sound right) – but the Vindaloo was other-worldly.

The dish had just the right amount of spice – just the right type of heat. There’s “burn your mouth” spicy, known better to some as the “Where’s the milk? I need milk! Get me the f****ing milk!” kind of spicy (also known as the “Why would you do this to me?” kind). Then there’s the type of spicy where you don’t really need to slow down to finish the meal, but your head is sweating for a good five minutes afterwards. This dish fit in the latter spicy category, which is far and away my preference. If you get a chance to try this recipe and prefer not to sweat while eating, there is also the option to pace yourself. I, however, did not have the wherewithal to do so, instantly lacking in both good judgement and self-control the moment this devilishly-tasty treat touched my lips.

cooking 1 024
Sautéing onion, garlic, ginger, red chili pepper, and cilantro stalks in peanut oil. Inhaling the smoke/steam caused a coughing fit or two, but it smelled great and was well worth it.

The recipe I used for this dish was from the “Jamie’s Food Revolution” cookbook, and is not readily available on his website. The internet being what it is, I thankfully didn’t have to look far to find a copy of it neatly typed up and ready for linking. Also, I should mention that despite my pride in making Rogan Josh paste from scratch for my “Saag” (yeah, using that shorthand possessively sounds even worse), I used Patak’s Vindaloo Paste this time around. As you can see from the final product posted above, I got adventurous with my rice as well. Having never made the recipe before (the recipe being Oliver’s “Lemon, Ginger and Turmeric Rice”), it could technically be included as a separate blog post, but I’m not that desperate as of yet. Separate blog post or not, it was a definitely a successful variance from plain basmati.

Anyways, if you like what you’ve read so far (whether this is the first post of mine that you’ve read, or you’ve taken the full two-week-and-counting journey with me) then please float a like, a comment, or a follow my way. Ultimately my goal is entertain and influence – if I can make you laugh and lead you to dream of yummy curries, plate-licking cheesecakes or tasty stews, then I’ll be satisfied with my effort. However, if I can actually persuade you to try one or two of these recipes yourself, then I’ll be beyond pleased with that outcome (and whatever outcome you achieve in the kitchen). Here’s hoping!

2 thoughts on “06 – Pork Vindaloo

Find this interesting? Post a comment

